My thoughts…

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 3.16.45 AM

I turned on the news tonight and I was in complete shock. Buildings burning, gunshots and even a reporter hit in the head with a rock.

I’m not going to comment on the verdict that the jury came to. All I know is that what is going on is insane.

Now before everyone pulls the “you’re not black- you don’t understand ” card… actually i get it. My mom is an immigrant and english is not her first language. She won’t go to the store by herself, she will ask me to always go with her just so she doesn’t have to talk to people.  I have witnessed first hand the way people treat her – they label her with that “dumb immigrant” stereotype. The truth is my mom is actually a very smart, articulate kind person- but people fail to get to know the real her. Discrimination and racism all have the same effect…they basically make you feel like shit. It’s when someone says “because of your background i’m going to treat you differently” or they generalize people as a whole group “you’re ____, you’re all the same” .

I don’t think the protests in Ferguson are about that one incident. I don’t think all that anger is directed solely at Officer Wilson. Instead Officer Wilson was a trigger. It triggered people to remember all the times they have been discriminated against because of the color of their skin. It made me remember how my mom was treated like shit all those time by people who barely knew her. It represents a much bigger problem than just Officer Wilson. Do I think there will ever be a day where there is no racism or discrimination? not a chance. But I told my mom that she can’t let others affect her because if she does- they win. And trust me it’s easier said than done. But the truth is racism and discrimination will never go away- we can’t control what 300 million people do. But you can chose to not let others disturb your peace.

Burning buildings to the ground does not solve anything. A week from now- all those shop owners will be left without a job. All the years they spent building their businesses will be a waste. It’s ironic because the people who are trying to make their community a better place are destroying it in the process. Does it make me mad how my mom has been treated? yes. But only God can judge those people’s action.

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 3.15.58 AM

Did Officer Wilson have reason to kill Michael Brown? We will never know 100%. Only 3 people know what happened that night- Michael Brown and Officer Wilson and God. If we don’t know the full story maybe we shouldn’t speculate. When I first heard that he hadn’t been charged I thought it was crazy and the whole “Cops think they’re above the law” …but then i’d be stereotyping too.

I hate how everyone jumps on the bandwagon and are so quick to just pick whatever the popular opinion is. How about people stop using this verdict as a reason to destroy their community? How about people get honest about what the real issues are- racism, discrimination, stereotyping . Have a conversation about how we can change the way people are treated in this country instead of burning down buildings. Do I feel that people have a right to be upset about this? yes. …but their anger is misdirected.

At the end of the day no one knows what happened that night.  I believe in karma- that what you do always comes back full circle. We need to take a step back and let God deal with all those involved. This is not what the Brown family wanted their son’s legacy to be so we need to respect their wishes.

I pray that one day we will all be treated the same regardless of the color of our skin, our nationality, our accents, our beliefs etc …but this isn’t the way to get there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

