A Must Read: “The Four Agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz

25f7c759bb106cb453b1651d048e58c5

“The Four Agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz is a must read. If you only have time to read one book- let it be this one.

There are so many “self help” books out there! Every time I walk into a bookstore it’s almost overwhelming, there’s 10 different books on one subject- how do you choose? I find a lot of the books share the exact same message but with a little different spin. Before you know it you have a stack of books sitting on your coffee table, and you’re STILL unhappy 😦

I was lucky, a friend actually recommended this book. I’ll admit at first I was a skeptic…I read so many different books that were supposed to give me the secret to life, but they actually left me more confused than when I started! But hey what’s another $20? I thought I’d give it a shot- and I’m happy I did! 🙂

This book basically outlines 4 different agreements  that you make to yourself to help you live a happy & peaceful life.

To summarize they are:

  1. Be Impeccable With Your Word
  2. Don’t Take Anything Personally
  3. Don’t Make Assumptions
  4. Always Do Your Best

 

What I love about this book is that it is built around the premise that YOU are in control of your own life. So often we give away our power to others by letting what they do affect us in a negative way. But it doesn’t have to be that way! Instead of always being reactive towards other people’s actions, take a different approach. If you simply change the way you look at things, you can be a lot happier! (trust me)

Over the next few post I will be covering each of the 4 agreements in depth…if you do want to read the book please don’t read my posts (spoiler alert!). And if you think this is complete B.S I understand that too…it’s not for everybody. What helped me may not help you because we’re all different- do whatever makes you happy 🙂

Disclaimer: Just my thoughts. I am not a professional psychiatrist so take my advice with a grain of salt 🙂

This entry was posted in Life Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

